The Chess Exchange

The Chess Exchange - To Your Chess Success!

Skip to content

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:18 am 






This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:20 pm
Posts: 907
Location: Maryland
 Post subject: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:40 pm 
If you're still having trouble getting CT-ART, Total Chess Training, Chess Strategy 2.0, etc., to run under Windows Vista, install the software to a separate folder other than the default \Program files\. I created one called \Total_Chess and installed to it -- the software runs fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:42 am
Posts: 1430
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:44 pm 
Steve Lopez wrote:
If you're still having trouble getting CT-ART, Total Chess Training, Chess Strategy 2.0, etc., to run under Windows Vista, install the software to a separate folder other than the default \Program files\. I created one called \Total_Chess and installed to it -- the software runs fine.



Good tip!

It might be however that this only works with 32 bit versions. I have a 64-bit Vista version and it won't even start the install routine in the first place, even if I use compatibility mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:20 pm
Posts: 907
Location: Maryland
 Post subject: Re: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:50 pm 
Jeroen wrote:
Steve Lopez wrote:
If you're still having trouble getting CT-ART, Total Chess Training, Chess Strategy 2.0, etc., to run under Windows Vista, install the software to a separate folder other than the default \Program files\. I created one called \Total_Chess and installed to it -- the software runs fine.



Good tip!

It might be however that this only works with 32 bit versions. I have a 64-bit Vista version and it won't even start the install routine in the first place, even if I use compatibility mode.


Yep, that's a major Vista issue. It's a real crapshoot as to whether or not a particular piece of software can be installed. I have some programs which are 10 years old that install and run fine; others as recent as five years can't even be installed (just as you say).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Newbie
 
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:53 pm
Posts: 1
 Post subject: Re: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:54 am 
I have Windows 7 (64-bit) on a quad-core Intel processor. I installed CT Art 3.0 just fine, but when I tried to start the program, it would give strange errors and the program would never run. So, I uninstalled CT ART 3.0, and then re-installed CT ART 3.0 to "c:\Total Chess Training", instead of "c:\Program Files (x86)\Total Chess Training". And now it works!

Thought this may help others out there with the same problem.

Best wishes.

--
Ivoryknight


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:20 pm
Posts: 907
Location: Maryland
 Post subject: Re: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:39 pm 
ivoryknight wrote:
I have Windows 7 (64-bit) on a quad-core Intel processor. I installed CT Art 3.0 just fine, but when I tried to start the program, it would give strange errors and the program would never run. So, I uninstalled CT ART 3.0, and then re-installed CT ART 3.0 to "c:\Total Chess Training", instead of "c:\Program Files (x86)\Total Chess Training". And now it works!

Thought this may help others out there with the same problem.

Best wishes.

--
Ivoryknight



Thanks for verifying that it works in the 64-bit version! 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Newbie
 
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:46 am
Posts: 1
 Post subject: Re: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:57 am 
ivoryknight wrote "So, I uninstalled CT ART 3.0...":

Did you just delete the folder in Program File (x86), or were you able to use Control Panel?

I have this very same problem but have now way to uninstall except by deleting the folder.

Added 4/17/10: CT ART 3.0 did not show up in Control Panel on my laptop (Vista 64-bit). However, there is an uninstall program (unwise.exe) located in the folder on the c drive. I used it successfully to remove the nonfunctional install of CT-Art 3.0 from my laptop.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Offline
Newbie
 
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:53 pm
Posts: 1
 Post subject: Re: Fix for CT-ART and others under Vista
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:03 pm 
Hallo,

Seeing the trouble getting the Covekta-stuff running on Windows Vista, i think we answered the queston best chess-software with a big NO. Better go for the Chessbase-stuff. I still work with Chessbase9 and only installed the first update.

Groet,
pita5


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 193 on Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





cron

ChessCentral - The Leader in Cutting-Edge Chess * Buy Fritz 12 * Buy Rybka 4 * Buy Fritz Powerbook DVD


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund and created by Elizabeth Shulman, Stop Animal Rights, Dog Training by corgipower