The Chess Exchange

The Chess Exchange - To Your Chess Success!

Skip to content

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:27 pm 

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Previous topic | Next topic 

Pawn

Post subject: Why Blitz Chess??
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:12 pm 
Hi all

I have been playing informal chess with friends on and off for many years but have never been a club player or taken the game very seriously.
However i have now decided to try and improve my game a little and have started to look at a few internet chess sites. One of the things that puzzles me however is "Blitz Chess"! Everyone seems to be playing it. Why is this? I always thought that chess was a deep thinking game; so if you are forced to make very quick moves as in Blitz, then surely you are going to make lots of mistakes! Is there a good reason for playing these very short quick games? Is it good tactical and combination practice? Maybe I am missing something. Also i don't quite understand the time control in these Blitz games for example 5+2. Ok I realise the 5 is 5 minutes, but what is the +2 for?

Any help greatly appreciated

Dan hawkes

User avatar  Offline
Rook

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:00 am 
Hi dandino, and welcome to the Exchange!

Blitz chess is not universally admired, so you're not alone in your disdain. It is very popular, however, as you've noticed. One reason is that you get to play many games in the time it would take to play a serious game, and not everyone has hours to devote to a single game. In fact, it may be hard to find even a 20-minute game on the net! But slow games are available, and even slow tournaments can be found on the various servers.