I was playing with my girlfriend today and this situation arrived: she moved and put my king in check. I could have easily moved by king out of harm's way, but I had been leading up to a killer box-in on her king.
So when she put me in check, I went after her king on the opposite side of the board and check-mated her.
Is this legal? I haven't poured over the advanced rules and regulations to find the answer, but a quick search didn't return anything.
I'm just wondering if what I did was technically a tie, or if it was completely illegal... any ideas?
If you are in check, then you MUST get out of check IMMEDIATELY. Even if your move "checkmates" your opponent, your move is illegal if you are still in check after you move.