The Chess Exchange

The Chess Exchange - To Your Chess Success!

Skip to content

It is currently Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:56 am 






This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

Previous topic | Next topic 

  Print view

Author Message
 Offline
Newbie
 
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 1
 Post subject: Can you checkmate while being checked?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:27 am 
I was playing with my girlfriend today and this situation arrived: she moved and put my king in check. I could have easily moved by king out of harm's way, but I had been leading up to a killer box-in on her king.

So when she put me in check, I went after her king on the opposite side of the board and check-mated her.

Is this legal? I haven't poured over the advanced rules and regulations to find the answer, but a quick search didn't return anything.

I'm just wondering if what I did was technically a tie, or if it was completely illegal... any ideas?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
King
 
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:09 pm
Posts: 148
Location: Placentia, CA
 Post subject: Re: Can you checkmate while being checked?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:58 am 
sevensamurai wrote:
I was playing with my girlfriend today and this situation arrived: she moved and put my king in check. I could have easily moved by king out of harm's way, but I had been leading up to a killer box-in on her king.

So when she put me in check, I went after her king on the opposite side of the board and check-mated her.

Is this legal? I haven't poured over the advanced rules and regulations to find the answer, but a quick search didn't return anything.

I'm just wondering if what I did was technically a tie, or if it was completely illegal... any ideas?

Thanks!

If you are in check, then you MUST get out of check IMMEDIATELY. Even if your move "checkmates" your opponent, your move is illegal if you are still in check after you move.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
King
 
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 142
Location: Leeds, UK
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:58 am 
Yes, if you yourself are in check, you must move your King out of the line of fire before making any other moves (unless the move also blocks the attack on your king). Your mate will have been illegal.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Site Admin
 
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:42 am
Posts: 1430
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
 Post subject: Re: Can you checkmate while being checked?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:30 pm 
sevensamurai wrote:
I was playing with my girlfriend today and this situation arrived: she moved and put my king in check. I could have easily moved by king out of harm's way, but I had been leading up to a killer box-in on her king.

So when she put me in check, I went after her king on the opposite side of the board and check-mated her.

Is this legal? I haven't poured over the advanced rules and regulations to find the answer, but a quick search didn't return anything.

I'm just wondering if what I did was technically a tie, or if it was completely illegal... any ideas?

Thanks!


http://www.fide.com/info/handbook?id=124&view=article
http://chessexchange.com/forum/viewtopi ... 7405#17405

FIDE Chess Rules wrote:
3.9 The king is said to be `in check` if it is attacked by one or more of the opponent`s pieces, even if such pieces are constrained from moving to that square because they would then leave or place their own king in check. No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to check or leave that king in check.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
King
 
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:03 am
Posts: 116
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:29 pm 
Think of what would happen if the game was allowed to continue beyond checkmate, and would end if the king was captured.

Your king would be captured first, thus you would lose.


Top
 Profile  
 
User avatar  Offline
Knight
 
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:51 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Michigan, U.S.A
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:58 am 
unless your mate also moved you out of check (which would have been pretty cool) I believe it would be illegal. You must move your king out of check when it gets in check immediately. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Offline
Pawn
 
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:22 pm
Posts: 7
 Post subject: Re: Can you checkmate while being checked?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 3:44 am 
Great topic, the information is very important, thanks for starting this. I have just anyway visited the link site and got a good great impression from the contents of the websites. I would like to visit it very often soon from now. Anyone can easily visit it for good chess lessons and get help. Break, anyway need a all well visit to http://www.fildate.com/ have great and real fun, bye enjoy stay.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 193 on Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest





cron

ChessCentral - The Leader in Cutting-Edge Chess * Buy Fritz 12 * Buy Rybka 4 * Buy Fritz Powerbook DVD


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

Style based on Andreas08 by Andreas Viklund and created by Elizabeth Shulman, Stop Animal Rights, Dog Training by corgipower